Capt. G. Macri, USN

Captain G. Macri, USN – Commanding Officer – May 13, 1965 – July 15, 1966

1941 – Class of 1941, USNA

1942 – USS Cincinnati

1943 – Designated Naval Aviator

– Executive Officer, Torpedo Squadron 6

1945 – Commanding Officer, Torpedo Squadron 40

– Officer-in-Charge, Advanced Training Squadron 5

1947 – Commanding Officer, Attack Squadron 175

1948 – Naval War College

1950 – Air Officer, USS Oriskany

1951 – Joint Staff, Joint Chief of Staff

1953 – Executive Officer, all Weather Attack Squadron 35

1956 – Commanding Officer, Carrier Air Task Group 2

1957 – Program Manager, BUAER, All Weather Fighter Program

1958 – Operations Officer, Carrier Division 4

1961 – Head, Air Warfare Branch, OPNAV

1962 – Commanding Officer, USS Rigel

1965 – Commanding Officer, USS Intrepid

Awards: Distinguished Flying Cross, Air medal with four stars, Presidential Unit Citation, Navy Commendation and Appropriate Campaign, Occupation and Service Medals.

CAPT Macri died 10/25/1994 and is buried in Arlington Cemetery, Section 60, Site 5872 Memorial #38791337
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Mike the Greek. R-Div.

     /  November 1, 2012

    After I came out of the boot camp, I went aboard the Intrepid in Brooklyn dry dock,Captain Macri was the CO at the time,and he stay on for little over a year for the first Vietnam cruise.

    Reply
  2. John

     /  March 18, 2013

    My uncle Jimmy Macri was Captain Macri’s brother. Im home with my folks talking about family on the Macri side and looked him up on the internet-my folks thought that was neat being able to find this info on him. John Fisher USMC (Ret) MSgt

    Reply
    • John, I’m happy to hear from you and am glad your folks are enjoying the fact that you were able to locate some information Captain Macri…and I am especially happy to know that you found the info on my Blog…and…I thank YOU for your service to our country. – John Simonetti, AMS3, V-6 Div., ’61-’62, USS Intrepid (CVA-11)/Past President, USS Intrepid Association, Inc. ’03-’05

      Reply
  3. John Fisher

     /  March 22, 2013

    John,
    Thanks for writing back. I thank you, as well as all loyal patriots who served. I’m glad young men and women are still making the choice to serve. As with the Vietnam Veterans I don’t think the majority of the American people today will ever again allow such treatment of service members. Most people today seem to know someone or have family that have served in the military. I need to get down to the Macri side of the family this summer.

    Reply
    • John…I was happy to respond back to you. I do hope and feel, as you do, today’s real Americans will hold Congress’s ‘feet-to-the-fire’ concerning the terrible treatment a lot of our veterans are receiving by way of the VA. Have a great time visiting your ‘Macri’ side of the family…and Never Forget Those Who Have Gone Before Us. – The best to you and yours.

      Reply
  4. Sandra A. Henderson

     /  April 19, 2015

    Captain Macri was my uncle. I just visited with his sister in Watkins Glen, NY. We are all very proud of him.

    Reply
    • Sandra, I’m glad you enjoyed my article on your uncle, Captain Macri and I hope it brought back some fond memories.

      Reply
    • Laurence H. Blackburn, M.D.

       /  April 19, 2015

      I Was the Intrepid Senior Medical Officer under CAPT MACRI 1965-66. He was a very competent and caring CO that I respected very much, and was sorry to see leave the ship. Can you tell me where he is buried?

      Larry Blackburn, M.D..

      Reply
  5. Jim Race

     /  May 22, 2015

    I was in the Marine Detachment from Nov. 1963 to Nov. 1965 and I knew Capt. Macri, for about six months, as the Captain’s Driver. During our time in dry-dock at Brooklyn Navy Yard He had a temporary home over in Fair Lawn, NJ and many times I would drive over there to shuttle him back and forth to the ship. He was always courteous, never overbearing; a fine officer. When I made E-4, my warrant bears his signature.

    Jim Race

    Reply
    • Jim, thanks for correcting me on Capt. Macri’s picture that I had posted in the ‘Intrepid Commanding Officers’ section in my Blog … and … I once lived in Collingswood, NJ and use to drive to the Intrepid every month for about 12+ yrs when I served on the USS Intrepid Association, Inc. Board of Directors and retired from there in ’05 when I was serving as Association President. Ironically, was was also Captain’s Driver, for Capt J.L. Abbott, Jr., my CO. I was an Aviation Structural Mechanic 3rd Class. (E-4).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

