“I went over the side…”

“June 21, 1999

Hi John (Blog editor)

God bless Zachary Fisher. Five (5) yrs ago I visited the Intrepid for the 1st time since I served aboard her for 2 year during World War II, 1943-1944. I flew off the Intrepid in a T.B.F. Torpedo plane, the Avenger as a Radio Radar Operator. The Intrepid received he award as the Best Ship in the Fleet.

Intrepid was first hit with a Torpedo and 5 times with Japanese Kamakazies. When you see the Fighting I film on the History Channel, you will see my plane go over the side 90 ft upside down after being hit with anti-aircraft fire while photographing Kwayalein in the Marshall Islands.

Zachary Fisher knew the history of the Intrepid and he was determined to save this historic ship for posterity.

I was proud to have served aboard the Intrepid. She is now a definite part of history. Zachary Fisher was always ready to help the military, Army, Navy, Marines and Coast Guard. He was a true Patriot who loved this country, the United States of America.

Joe Liotta, Former Crewmember, 1943-1944″

Let Us Not Forget Those Who Have Gone Before Us

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. JACK HICKMAN

     /  April 18, 2013

    After reading Joe Liotta’s note, it brought back a memory to me. I, and my family went up to see the Intrepid and I ran into Joe and some others that i served with. We met on the Fan tail and we told about our time aboard…and…I think my son recorded it on tape. I’ll be sure to check with him. If he still has it, I will forward it to you. Joe may have remembered who the other fellows were.

    Reply
    • Jack…”What a Surprise”…to hear from you…and…so close to my – just minutes ago – ‘posting’ Joe’s letter on my Blog. As I’m sure others are glad to know, I am also happy you were able to meet-up with Joe and others you served with. I’m sure the memories just started to come back to all of you. I am looking forward to hearing from you and with the hope that you do have a copy of the tape you son took on the memorable day…And…if you have any memories or stories that you would like to share with our fellow former Intrepid crew members, please don’t hesitate to email them to me at cv11texfcm@gmail.com . Take care, Jack, and thank you for your support of my Blog…AND…Please ‘Pass-the-Word’. – John

      Reply
    • Jim, thanks for your comments, and Joe is still missed by many. If you do find that your son did record the meeting you mention, please let me know…and thanks for your support of my Blog -John

      Reply
  2. Mike Karakostantis

     /  April 18, 2013

    God bless you, old shipmate, I will watch the Intrepid DVD History again, just to see your plane going over the side of the flight deck. I was on Intrepid from 1965-69…we only whent to General Quarters once in Vietnam, so we where pretty lucky compared to you guys. I use to live in NYC so I visited the Intrepid a few times. Take care. – Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

